kidzpasob.blogg.se

Cant initialize drive
Cant initialize drive







cant initialize drive

I still can't believe this is the case because it just looks like some amateur design. If this is really the case and in order to replace drive 1 you need to reset your whole system then this is a huge design flaw from QNAP and something that should be written in huge bold letters in the user manual! This absolutely makes no sense at all, I've worked with plenty of NAS systems and none of them behaves like this.

#Cant initialize drive plus#

RAID 6 or 10 in a 4 bay drive is actually a pretty bad idea and RAID 5 is ok unless you need storage because you'll still lose 1 drive which is my case so none of those suite my purposes, plus I'm seeing people using RAID 5 with the exact same problem anyway.

cant initialize drive

I have backups, but I'm not risking deleting 20 TB of data from the NAS and then restore everything from the backups, there's always a chance one of the backup drives fails in the process (which will take quite a while). At this point I'm clueless on what to do so any help would be appreciated. So can anyone please point me out on how am I supposed to replace drive 1? Already tried to manually SSH into the NAS and stop all services like it was suggested in another thread, but that didn't help. After some google and forum search it seems this is a common problem with QNAP systems, but I couldn't find any solution to it. I have replaced all the other 3 drives on the NAS at different points over the years, but this is the first time I'm actually trying to replace drive 1. I select it and press the Format button, it seems to start formatting, but it won't get past 0% and after a couple of minutes I'm presented with an error notification stating ' Formatting failed(Cannot unmount disk).' If I try pressing Check File System I get the same error stating it cannot unmount disk. In the Logical Volumes list at the bottom it shows as Uninitialized as expected, so far so good. I plugged the old drive out, inserted the new one went to Storage Manager and it shows up in the Physical Disks list at the top with the correct capacity detected and status as Ready. I have a TS-410 with 4 drives configured as single (no RAID) running with the latest firmware, I had a faulty drive in slot 1 so I had to replace it for another one.









Cant initialize drive